Lay Leaders of Prayer Commissioned
Monday, 25 November 2013 18:31

            Thirty-one men and women in the six county Diocese of Youngstown were commissioned as lay Leaders of Prayer on Wednesday evening, November 20, 2013. The commissioning took place during Evening Prayer at the Our Lady of the Lakes Parish, Saint James Church, North Jackson, Ohio. Monsignor Robert Siffrin, Vicar General of the Diocese of Youngstown, was the presider.

            Leaders of Prayer are lay persons commissioned to lead the faithful in acts of worship which in the past were most often led by the ordained clergy but which may be also led by lay people. Among these services are Morning and Evening Prayer, Liturgy of the Word with or without the distribution of Holy Communion, devotions, the vigil service and rite of committal from the Order of Christian Funerals, and in an emergency Sunday Celebrations in the Absence of a Priest. Leaders of Prayer are commissioned not only to lead currently scheduled acts of worship in the parish in the absence of a priest but also to expand the opportunities for communal prayer. They are commissioned for a period of three years for service in their parish under the direction of the pastor.

            The persons commissioned were:

Ashtabula County:

            -Corpus Christi Parish, Conneaut: Philip Smothers

Columbiana County:

-St. Paul Parish, Salem: Mary Bass, Robert Frank, Chris Huffman, Louis Markovich Jr., Patricia Schaff,

Dolores Stryzinski, Raymond Stryzinski

Mahoning County:

            -Christ Our Savior Parish, Struthers: Alvera Bell

-Christ the Good Shepherd Parish, Campbell: Judith Hernandez, Carmelo Lebron, Nicholas Opencar

-Our Lady of Mt. Carmel/St. Anthony Parish, Youngstown: Mark Izzo, John Rose

            -Our Lady of Sorrows Parish, Youngstown: Katherine Garchar

-St. Charles Parish, Boardman: Carolyn Beil

-St. Michael Parish, Canfield: Stephen DeCapua, Mary Lou Mack, Alan Ricks

Portage County:

-Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, Aurora: Mary Ann Carse, Mary Casamento, Judy Ciehanski

Stark County:

-St. Joseph Parish, Maximo: Kathleen Bolden, Terry Grove Sr.,Theresa Grove, Bethany Porter, June Porter

            Little Flower Parish, Canton: Roberto Meza

Trumbull County:

            Blessed John Paul II Parish, Warren: Mark Stempak

John F. Kennedy High School, Warren: Theresa Dolan-Dixon

St. William Parish, Champion: Woody Pealer

           The seven week series was conducted by Rev. Michael D. Balash, director of the diocesan Office of Worship, Daniel Laginya, director of music at St. Columba Cathedral, Youngstown, and Fran Amer, St. Michael Parish, Canfield.