Leaders of Prayer
Wednesday, 04 November 2015 00:00

NEWS RELEASE                     144 West Wood Street,
                                                                     Phone: 330-744-8451
                                                                     Fax: 330-742-6448
                                                                     Rev. Monsignor John A. Zuraw, Chancellor

FOR RELEASE Immediate DATE SENT November 4, 2015
SUBJECT         Leaders of Prayer
MORE INFO     Office of Worship  330.744.8451

Thirty-five men and women from around the diocese will be commissioned as lay Leaders of Prayer on Wednesday evening, November 18, 2015. The commissioning will take place during Evening Prayer at the Our Lady of the Lakes Parish ~ Saint James Church, North Jackson, Ohio. Monsignor Robert Siffrin, Vicar General of the Diocese of Youngstown, will be the presider.

Leaders of Prayer are lay persons commissioned to lead the faithful in acts of worship which in the past were most often led by the ordained clergy but which may be also led by lay people. Among these services are Morning and Evening Prayer, Liturgy of the Word with or without the distribution of Holy Communion, devotions, the vigil service and rite of committal from the Order of Christian Funerals, and in an emergency, Sunday Celebrations in the Absence of a Priest. Leaders of Prayer are commissioned not only to lead currently scheduled acts of worship in the parish in the absence of a priest but also to expand the opportunities for communal prayer. They are commissioned for a period of three years for service in their parish under the direction of the pastor.

The new Lay Leaders of Prayer include:

Columbiana County:

--Holy Trinity Parish, East Liverpool: Mr. Christopher DeSarro

Mahoning County:

--Christ the Good Shepherd Parish, Campbell: Mr. Robert Yankle

--Immaculate Heart of Mary Parish, Austintown: Mrs. Mary Ellen Frabutt,
  Mrs. Margaret Hynes

--Our Lady of Mt. Carmel/St. Anthony Parish, Youngstown: Mr. Christopher Anthony

--St. Ann Parish, Sebring: Mrs. Rosemary Lamparty, Mrs. Debbie Scott

--St. Charles Parish, Boardman: Dr. Linda Ross

--St. Joseph Parish, Austintown: Mrs. Ruth Carroll

--St. Michael Parish, Canfield: Mrs. Audrey Geskey

--St. Patrick Parish, Youngstown: Mr. William Phillips, Mrs. Kathleen Zimmerman

Portage County:

--Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, Aurora: Mrs. Patricia Elswick

Stark County:

--Holy Family Parish, Navarre: Mr. Norman Budd, Mrs. Linda Regula,
  Mrs. Linda Stombaugh,  Ms. Patricia Winkhart

--St. Joseph Parish, Alliance: Mrs. Christine Ballor, Mrs. Angela Zumbar

--St. Joseph Parish, Canton: Mr. Dennis Kinkead

--St. Mary/St. Benedict Parish, Canton: Miss Sally David

--St. Louis Parish, Louisville: Mrs. Debbie Bergert, Mrs. Dawn Zwick

Trumbull County:

--Blessed Sacrament Parish, Warren: Mrs. Brenda Antenucci,
  Mr. and Mrs. Gary and Linda Machin,  Mrs. Katherine Mariani

--St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Parish, Warren: Mr. Edward Kleese

--St. Patrick Parish, Hubbard: Mr. Anthony Kavalesky, Mrs. Mary Ellen Salata,
  Mr. Ralph Weidner Jr.

--St. Thomas the Apostle Parish, Vienna: Mr. Kyle Knell

--St. William Parish, Champion: Mr. David Evans, Mrs. Theresa Petrosky

Deacon Ralph Chase from St. Ann Parish, Sebring also participated in the formation classes.

The eight week series was conducted by Rev. Michael D. Balash, director of the Office of Worship, Dr. Daniel Laginya, director of music, St. Columba Cathedral, and Mrs. Fran Amer, St. Michael Parish, Canfield.