Year of Mercy – Missionaries of Mercy
Tuesday, 08 March 2016 00:00

NEWS RELEASE                144 West Wood Street,
                                                                     Phone: 330-744-8451
                                                                     Fax: 330-742-6448
                                                                     Rev. Monsignor John A. Zuraw, Chancellor

FOR RELEASE Immediate DATE SENT March 8, 2016
SUBJECT Year of Mercy - Missionaries of Mercy

MORE INFO Office of Worship  330-744-8451

For the Year of Mercy, Pope Francis has asked that interested priests consider becoming a Missionary of Mercy.  The Holy Father has characterized a Missionary of Mercy as:

~A living sign of the Father’s welcome to all in search of forgiveness;

~Facilitators of all, with no one excluded, of a truly human encounter, a source of liberation, rich with responsibility for overcoming obstacles and taking up the new life of Baptism again;

~Inspiring preachers of mercy;

~Heralds of the joy of forgiveness;

~Welcoming, loving and compassionate confessors, who are most especially attentive to the difficult situations of each person.

In addition, Pope Francis has also granted Missionaries of Mercy the authority to pardon those sins customarily reserved to the Holy See.  To mark this occasion, Bishop George V. Murry, S.J., in the name of Pope Francis, will commission the following diocesan priests as Missionaries of Mercy during the annual celebration of the Chrism Mass on Tuesday, March 22, 2016 at Saint Columba Cathedral:  Rev. Edward Brienz, Msgr. Michael Cariglio, Rev. Christopher Cicero, Msgr. James Clarke, Rev. Brian Cline, Rev. Sean Conoboy, Rev. Robert Edwards, Rev. George Franko, Msgr. Lewis Gaetano, Rev. Terrence Hazel, Rev. Robert Kaylor, Rev. John Keehner, Rev. Maciej Mankowski, Rev. J. Patrick Manning, Rev. Craig McHenry, Rev. David Misbrener,  Rev. Raymond Paul,  Msgr. Peter Polando, Rev. Melvin Rusnak, Msgr. Robert Siffrin and Msgr. John Zuraw.