Twenty-Six to be Commissioned Lay Leaders of Prayer
Friday, 04 November 2016 00:00

NEWS RELEASE                144 West Wood Street,
                                                                     Phone: 330-744-8451
                                                                     Fax: 330-742-6448
                                                                     Rev. Monsignor John A. Zuraw, Chancellor

FOR RELEASE Immediate DATE SENT November 4, 2016
SUBJECT          Twenty-Six to be Commissioned Lay Leaders of Prayer

MORE INFO     Diocese of Youngstown Office of Worship  330.744.8451 

Twenty-six men and women from around the diocese will be commissioned as lay Leaders of Prayer on Wednesday evening, November 16, 2016.  The commissioning will take place during Evening Prayer at the Regina Coeli Parish, Alliance, Ohio.  Monsignor Robert Siffrin, Vicar General of the Diocese of Youngstown, will be the presider.

 Leaders of Prayer are lay persons commissioned to lead the faithful in acts of worship which in the past were most often led by the ordained clergy but which may be also led by lay people.  Among these services are Morning and Evening Prayer, Liturgy of the Word with or without the distribution of Holy Communion, devotions, the vigil service and rite of committal from the Order of Christian Funerals, and in an emergency, Sunday Celebrations in the Absence of a Priest.  Leaders of Prayer are commissioned not only to lead currently scheduled acts of worship in the parish in the absence of a priest but also to expand the opportunities for communal prayer.  They are commissioned for a period of three years for service in their parish under the direction of the pastor.

 The new Lay Leaders of Prayer include: 

 Ashtabula County

   --Corpus Christi Parish, Conneaut:  Mrs. Bernadette Callahan

 Columbiana County:

   --Holy Trinity Parish, East Liverpool:  Mr. Stanley Conley

 Mahoning County:

   --Saint Joseph Parish, Austintown:  Mrs. Pamela Balzic, Mrs. Carolyn
             Semivan, Ms. Karen Womer

   --Our Lady of Sorrows Parish, Youngstown:  Mr. Robert Chismar Jr.

   --Immaculate Heart of Mary Parish, Austintown:  Mrs. Debbie McGahagan

   --Our Lady of Mt. Carmel/St. Anthony Parish, Youngstown:  Mr.
             Scott Schulick

   --Saint Edward Parish, Youngstown:  Miss Regina Oliva

Portage County:

   --Saint Joan of Arc Parish, Streetsboro:  Mrs. Sherry Demich, Mr.
              Terry Socha

 Stark County:

   --Regina Coeli Parish, Alliance:  Mrs. Barbara Bedford

   --Saint Anthony/All Saints Parish, Canton: Mr. Timothy Spitale, Mr.
              Brandon Wehl

   --Saint Michael Parish, Canton:  Mr. James Bates Jr., Mrs. Mary Ann
              Schuetz, Mrs. Julie Sutton

   --Saint Barbara Parish, Massillon:  Mr. Kenneth Boyce, Mrs. Cynthia Giltz

   --Saint Joseph Parish, Maximo:  Mrs. Ann Biddle, Mr. Andrew Conrad,
               Mr. Frank Greiner III, Mrs. Laura Schmidt

   --Walsh University, North Canton: Mr. Miguel Chavez, Mr. Mitchum
               Warren IV

 Trumbull County:

   --St. Thomas the Apostle Parish, Vienna:  Ms. Valerie Seaborn

The eight week series was conducted by Rev. Michael D. Balash, director of the Office of Worship, Dr. Daniel Laginya, director of music, St. Columba Cathedral, and Mrs. Fran Amer, St. Michael Parish, Canfield.